Attractions in and around Monroe…
There is a sense that bygone times are integrated with current times to create the peaceful, rural nature of the place.
Water powered grist mill constructed in 1791 by Archibald McDowell and on the National Register of Historic Places. The mill is located on Second Creek, a stream of about 26 miles which originates on Peters Mountain and drains a large portion of Monroe County’s eastern section. The creek is a “power creek” along which as many as 26 different mills were located over the years — grist, powder, hammer, saw and woolen. The mill is a significant example of timber framing. The entire weight of the building is carried by massive, hand hewn beams held together by wooden pegs. Not currently open to the public.
Photos from their Facebook Page
Moved to its present site in the early 1900’s from Craig County, Virginia. The mill was used almost continuously for the grinding of grain through the late 1960’s. Not currently open to the public.
Confederate Soldiers of Monroe County
Plot was donated to the Daughters of the Confederacy in the late 1890’s by a descendant of Allen Caperton, both a U.S. and C.S.A. Senator, and Hugh Caperton, a congressman from 1813 to 1815. The monument was dedicated in September of 1901.
A marker notes the location of a wooden stockade which reportedly enclosed an area of roughly 1.5 acres. 300 settlers took refuge there in 1778. Nothing remains of the structure itself.
A small stockade fort, and one of several fortifications which were erected in the county prior to the American Revolution. Nothing remains at the location now. The property is owned by the Monroe County Historical Society.
Salt Sulphur Springs
Listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Opened as a resort in 1820. Martin Van Buren, Henry Clay, and John Calhoun among prominent guests. General Jenkins and other Confederates made their headquarters here during several campaigns. Buildings still standing include: main part of the hotel, bathhouse, spring house, chapel, store building and two cottages. It is the largest complex of stone buildings in West Virginia.
Old Sweet Springs
Old Sweet Resort was a popular mineral springs resort from the late 1700s to the early 1930s. Many dignitaries – such as Queen Victoria and the King of England and 6 US presidents – visited the Old Sweet in its “heyday.” The resort featured the famous mineral spring, cool evenings, the splendid Sweet Springs Valley and the Allegheny Mountains.
Aside from the village itself, nothing remains of the old spa except for the stone spring enclosure.
This impressive structure, located on the Union Historic Walking Tour, was formed by the Presbyterian Church and incorporated in 1820. It is the oldest standing private school in West Virginia. The school was first an academy for young boys. In the mid 1850s the school was changed to the Monroe Presbyterian High School and then, in the latter 1850s, Union College. The buildings sat idle after the Civil War for a time and then, under management of the Methodist Church, functioned as the West Virginia Female Seminary and Johnson Female College.
Ames Clair Hall, Union
A restored 1857 African-American church, owned and maintained by the Monroe County Historical Society. Currently used for concerts and community gatherings.
St. John’s Catholic Chapel, Sweet Spgs.
West Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Oldest continuously used Catholic Church in West Virginia, having been erected before 1859 and maybe as early as 1839. It was erected by slave labor and is extremely unique in its construction, particularly the last row of bricks before the roof line. Services held each Memorial Day, Feast of the Assumption, and All Souls Day. Can be open for tours or visitation by appointment. The “old” Catholic cemetery is 9/10ths of an acre on the hill northwest of the remains of the Lynnside Plantation and adjoins the family cemetery. This cemetery has, among others, Virginia Gov. and Mrs. Floyd’s grave site. These may be visited by appointment (hiking wear recommended). The “new” Catholic cemetery is at the rear of the church lot.
This beautiful stone church was erected about 1830 by the Fullen Brothers. During the time that the Salt Sulphur Spring resort was in operation the church served as an Episcopalian Church in the morning and a Presbyterian Church in the afternoon. About 1912 the property was deeded to the Episcopalian Church proper and named St. Michaels. The building was closed recently and is under restoration by a Salt Sulphur Springs restoration group.
Old Brick Church, Union
This 1845 structure is owned and maintained by the Monroe County Historical Society.
Alderson Main Street’s Greenbrier River Interpretative Center
Greenbrier River Interpretative and Alderson Visitor Center is open Thursday and Friday 11-4 and Saturday 8-4. There is a community market in the parking lot every Saturday until mid-October 8:30-12:30. Location is across from the river and the Memorial Bridge (Greenbrier County side) on Riverview Road.
Monroe Historical Society
Society for the preservation and detailing of the history of Monroe County. Dues are $20 per year ($30 Family; $200 Life) and include the newsletter, which is issued quarterly. Historical Society meetings normally occur quarterly, on the second Sunday of March, June, September, and December, at 2pm, in the lower level of the Monroe County Public Library in Union (entrance in rear). Society maintains the Monroe County Historical Society Museum in Union. Several publications on Monroe County history for sale. Go to web site for more information.
Monroe County Historical Society
This historic building serves as a depository for the Monroe County Historical Society’s archives and provides a seasonal Visitor’s Information Center. This museum is located in an 1820 brick building which was once the law office of Allen Taylor Caperton. Caperton served as a Senator to the Confederacy and, after the Amnesty Act of 1872, became a Senator to the United States. The Bank of Union was also located in the building in 1880. The vault is still there and serves as storage today.
Clark-Wiseman & Neel Houses
Adjacent to the Monroe County Museum and owned by the Monroe County Historical Society, these reconstructed log houses are furnished in period furnishings entirely from Monroe County.
Monroe Arts Alliance
The Monroe Arts Alliance, Inc. was formed in 2002 for exclusively charitable purposes and for the enrichment of the general public by promoting the arts in Monroe County and surrounding areas. Many cultural programs are offered throughout the year including: performances in dance, music, drama, and art classes. Fundraising is ongoing to provide scholarship monies for exceptional students in art, music and dance. Membership support enables the MAA to meet its mission.
Old World Libations
3483 Greenville Road, Union, WV 24983
Old World Libations is one of West Virginia’s newest Farm Wineries. Specializing in meads and fruit wines made from the finest that nature offers. Overlooking the idyllic Indian Creek & nestled in the heart of Monroe County, West Virginia.
Byrnside Branch Farm
HC 76, Box 3A, Union, WV 24983
There is much to do at Byrnside Branch. The highlights of course are the corn maze and pumpkin patch, but there is more! There is a hay maze, farm animals, and a barrel train tour for the kids. Adults will enjoy the seasonal produce, bonfires, and tractor tours. Corn maze and pumpkin patch open every weekend beginning in September through November. Try the Twilight Maze with glow sticks or flashlights. Bonfire sites available. Groups welcome. Weekday field trips available upon request. Friday: 4:00 pm – 10:00 pm, Saturday: 9:00 am – 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm – 10:00 pm. One mile from Union just off Willow Bend Road.
Sunset Berry Farm and Produce
791 Laurel Creek Road, Flat Mountain, Alderson, WV 24910
Alderson’s sweetest U Pick strawberry patch is open May & June-days/hours vary annually. School field trip destination (pollination lesson, strawberry picking, sunflower planting, scavenger hunt hayride).
Chestnut Hill Farm
455 Liberty Lane, Peterstown, WV 24963
This working farm welcomes visitors to enjoy their property during the fall season. Chestnut Hill Farm offers a corn maze, petting zoo, kiddie train, hay rides, apple sling shot, fire pits and more. To put a fun spin on the maze, bring your flashlight Friday nights and try the maze after dark. Craft vendors on-site every Saturday. Harvested goodies for fall decorating available for sale. Friday open 4-10 PM, Saturday 10 am- 6 PM, Sunday 1-6PM.